Board of Trustees | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

Board of Trustees

The Bismarck State College Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees, which is comprised of a diverse group of talented business leaders and community supporters who are committed to BSC Foundation's vision and mission.

BSC Foundation Board of Trustees

Photo of BSC Trustee Dave Mason
Danette Welsh
Vice President
Photo of BSC Trustee Rebecca Collins
Photo of BSC Trustee Scott Becker
Chairman of the Board
Photo of BSC Trustee Dr. Douglas Jensen
BSC President
Photo of BSC Executive Director Kari Knudson
Executive Director, BSC Foundation
Photo of BSC Trustee Sarah Getzlaff
Finance Committee Chair
  Russ Hanson
Development Committee Chair
Photo of BSC Trustee Wade Mann
Programs Committee Chair

Board Members

Tricia Arenz - Once Upon A Child
Thomas Atkinson - The Atkinson Company
Timothy Atkinson - Community Leader
Brad Balerud - Quality Title
Brad Ballweber - Northern Improvement
John Bauer - Great River Energy
Greg Bavendick - Westex Petroleum Corporation
Scott Becker - Doosan/Bobcat Company
Dr. Mike Bitz - Mandan Public Schools
Wade Boeshans - Summit Carbon Solutions
Glenn Bosch - Community Leader
Eric Brenden - Northwest Contracting
Janell Campbell - Bismarck State College Staff Representative
Jim Christianson - NW Realty Group
Cindy Clairmont - Community Leader
Norman Clark - Gate City Bank
Rebecca Collins - Bismarck State College
Terry Daffinrud - Community Leader
Kevin Dykema - Bravera Bank
Debra Gallagher - Community Leader
Sarah Getzlaff - Security First Bank
Dr. Kevin Gilchrist - Gilchrist Dental
David Goodin - MDU Resources Group, Inc.
Mike Haider - Capital City Construction, Inc.
Russ Hanson - Associated General Contractors of ND
Florence Hauer - United Printing
Barry Haugen - Independent Community Banks of North Dakota
Jennifer Heck - RDO Equipment
Mike Heger - BNI Energy
Marby Hogen - Novo Nordisk
Mark Holkup - BSC Retiree Representative
Gina Hruby - The Title Team
Dr. Douglas Jensen - Bismarck State College
Marlin Kling - Midwest Motor Express
Kari Knudson - Bismarck State College
Rob Koppinger - Kirkwood Bank & Trust
Loren Kopseng - United Energy Corporation
Joel Kostelecky - First Western Bank
Terry Kraft - American Family Insurance
Dr. Michael LeBeau - Sanford Health
John Lundby - U.S. Bank
Kevin Magstadt - Kraus-Anderson
MacKenzie Malloy - Bismarck Title Company
Wade Mann - Crowley Fleck
David Mason - First International Bank & Trust
Kristine Melby - Cornerstone Bank
Jeff Nelson - National Information Solutions Cooperative
Dale Pahlke - Dakota Community Bank & Trust
Judy Pfeifle - Community Leader
Brandon Reems - Choice Bank
Ken Reno - Community Leader
Paul Sandness - Community Leader
Jean Schafer - Basin Electric Power Cooperative
Kurt Schley - CHI St. Alexius Health
Tricia Schlosser - Century 21 Morrison
Dr. Larry Skogen - Community Leader
Darren Snow - Marathon Petroleum Logistics
Kevin Stadler - BNC National Bank
Mary Theel - Cedric Theel, Inc.
Irene Tschider - Community Leader
Stacy Tschider - Rainbow Energy Marketing Corp
Vance Vesey - Bismarck State College Faculty Representative
Mari Volk - BSC Alumni Association Representative
Chad Wachter - Investcore, Inc.
Susan Walker Weiand - Walkers n’ Daughters Jewelers
Curt Walth - Starion Financial
Bryan Walther - Coteau Properties Co
Patrick Ward - Zuger, Kirmis & Smith
Scott Wegner - Arntson Stewart Wegner PC
Zac Weis - Marathon Oil
Tony Welder - Community Leader
Danette Welsh - ONEOK
Mark Zimmerman - Community Leader

Trustee Emeritus

Senator Byron Dorgan - Arent Fox LLP
Ray Grabar - Community Leader
John Sakariassen - Community Leader
Gerald Skogley - Community Leader
Joyce Tello - Community Leader
Bill Townsend - Dakota Awards

BSC Foundation Board of Trustee Committees

The Executive Committee shall: (1) review, make modifications to and recommend approval of the proposed Foundation annual fiscal year budget and any proposed amendments to it; (2) serve as the Audit Committee for the Foundation; (3) review and approve the annual audit and Management letter; and (4) assist the committees of the Foundation in accomplishing their responsibilities.

The Finance Committee shall: (1) have and exercise the power to make decisions regarding the appropriate investment and reinvestment of the Foundation's assets and funds; (2) maintain an investment policy and properly maintain oversight on investment management for the Foundation; (3) provide advice and direction in management and/or sale of properties which may be gifted to the Foundation; (4) approve all planned gift arrangements including the authority to enter into agreements and arrangements; (5) make recommendations regarding policies for the disbursement of funds; (6) review, make modifications to and recommend approval of the proposed Foundation annual fiscal year budget and any proposed amendments to it; and (7) select, approve and authorize a qualified Certified Public Accounting firm to complete the annual audit of the Foundation.

The Programs Committee shall: (1) have and exercise the power to make decisions to develop and implement guidelines, policies and procedures for awarding of all scholarships and grants given by the Foundation; (2) have the authority to award scholarships and grants based on the approved fiscal year budget; (3) review, make modifications to and recommend approval of the proposed Foundation annual fiscal year budget for scholarships and grants and any proposed amendments to it; and (4) approve the annual expenditure and award of the Jack Fellowship following the guidelines set forth by the donors. 

The Development Committee shall: (1) be responsible for the recruitment and orientation of new members and the nomination of officers for the Foundation; and (2) be responsible for development of fund-raising goals, as well as defining short-term and long-term funding needs of the Foundation.