Students Named to the 2016 All-North Dakota Academic Team | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

Students Named to the 2016 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Published: Apr 26 2016
Students Named to the 2016 All-North Dakota Academic Team - Photo
Five North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2016 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. The students were honored at a dinner and awards ceremony on Thursday, April 21, at Lake Region State College. North Dakota University System Chancellor Mark Hagerott was the keynote speaker for this year’s program.
Members of the 2016 All-North Dakota Academic Team, their hometowns and the colleges they attend are as follow:

Samantha Roth, Mandan, Bismarck State College
Ulysses Jones, Devils Lake, Lake Region State College
Alaina McKinnon, Kisbey (SK), Lake Region State College
Taylor Heinz, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science
Jessica Mastel, North Dakota State College of Science
Additionally, Jessica Mastel received the New Century Scholar for North Dakota. Sara Schaefer and Mattie Schmitt, both attending Dakota College at Bottineau, were recognized as community college scholars.

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said Hagerott. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that reflects positively on both the students and their colleges. This is another example of how students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the North Dakota team receives a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Jack Dalrymple, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary and University of Jamestown also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.
Reprinted from the North Dakota University System.

Photo Caption: Phi Theta Kappa
Pictured from left, are: Ulysses Jones II (LRSC), Samantha Roth (BSC), Taylor Heinz (NDSCS), Sara Schaefer (DCB), Mattie Schmitt (DCB), and NDUS Chancellor Mark Hagerott. Not pictured: Jessica Mastel (NDSCS) and Alaina McKinnon (LRSC). Photo courtesy of Lake Region State College.