Skip to main content

BSC students named to the 2017 All-North Dakota Academic Team | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page
  Home  »  News »  

BSC students named to the 2017 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Published: Mar 09 2017
Twelve North Dakota community college students have been named to the 2017 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students. The students were honored at a dinner and awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 7, at Bismarck State College. Monsignor James Shea, president of the University of Mary, was the keynote speaker for this year’s program.

Members of the 2017 All-North Dakota Academic Team, their hometowns and the colleges they attend are as follows:

Robyn Duttenhefner, Menoken, Bismarck State College
Ashton Wiederholt, Mobridge (S.D.), Bismarck State College

Karrie Green, Fort Totten, Cankdeska Cikana Community College
Ronald Walking Eagle Jr., Fort Totten, Cankdeska Cikana Community College
Megan Suhr, Ray, Dakota College at Bottineau
Morgan Kersten, Kramer, Dakota College at Bottineau
Paige Prekker, Elko New Market (Minn.), Lake Region State College
Hannah Swartz, Park River, Lake Region State College
Leah Barnes, Richfield (Minn.), North Dakota State College of Science
Elizabeth Brown, Wahpeton, North Dakota State College of Science
Taylor Nelson, Ray, Williston State College
Mikayla Whiteley, Watford City, Williston State College

"These students are outstanding examples of academic achievement and community involvement," said North Dakota University System Chancellor Mark Hagerott. "Being named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team is a significant accomplishment, one that reflects positively on both the students and their colleges. This is another example of how students who attend North Dakota's community colleges are well prepared to meet the evolving demands of the workforce or continue on for additional education."

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the N.D. team receives a certificate of congratulations from Gov. Doug Burgum, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary and University of Jamestown also offer awards to All-North Dakota Academic Team members.

Reprinted from the North Dakota University System.