Skip to main content

BSC employees honored for years of service | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

BSC employees honored for years of service

Published: Jan 14 2015
Robert Arso
                   Robert Arso
The Bismarck State College Foundation honored 74 employees for their years of service during the college's Winter Celebration in the National Energy Center of Excellence Bavendick Stateroom.

BSC Foundation Executive Director Gordon Binek spoke about the foundation's year and introduced the award recipients. Other speakers were BSC Foundation Vice President Paul Sandness and BSC Interim President David Clark.

Recognized with the longest tenure were Robert Arso with 40 years and Elmer Weigel and Richard Malsam with 35 years.

Arso has taught all Electronics program courses and has developed telecommunications and avionics courses, as well as curriculum for Instrumentation and Control Technology. Most of his teaching years were spent as a department chair, currently the Career and Technology Department. He has served on virtually every planning and governance committee. Arso was BSC's first Interactive Video Network coordinator and co-planner for online learning. He helped initiate Explore BSC, an annual showcase of BSC's programs.

Elmer Weigel, chief information officer, does all things IT for BSC, including planning, oversight, network design, security, projects and equipment. He is chair of the Technology Advisory and Coordinating Committee and serves on the Operations Council and Computer Use Steering Committee. He created BSC's first computer network in 1981 and wrote the current interactive system for student registration. Weigel led the first computer laptop initiative in 1998 and other firsts to make BSC a virtual campus.

Richard Malsam, associate professor of Auto Collision Technology, is a certified master Automotive Service Excellence technician. Malsam initiated the national certification process for the Auto Collision program. He has served on numerous BSC committees including Faculty Senate, Faculty Rights, safety, academics and general education. His longtime work advising USA Skills competitions has yielded many state winners.

25 YEARS - Greg Achtenberg, custodial lead worker; Patrick Bjork, Web manager; Perry Hornbacher, professor of American history.

20 YEARS - Stephanie Borud, career and technical curriculum librarian; James Eggert, maintenance; Randy Meissner, computer science lecturer; Evelyn Morrell, instruction assistant.

15 YEARS - Wes Braun, associate professor, NECE; Lisa Hoynes, associate professor of human services; Lane Huber, chief distance learning and military affairs officer; Tim Kramer, math learning assistant - Student Success Center; Jay Meier, director of Counseling and Advising Services; Carol Nitschke, criminal justice lecturer; Todd Reidman, associate professor of automotive technology; Michele Stockert, English lecturer.

10 YEARS - Mark Abramovitz, nuclear power technology lecturer; Zachery Allen, project manager, NECE;  Clyde Bauman, music lecturer; Doren Billingsley, electric power technology lecturer; Liz Braunagel, assistant professor of mathematics; Ryan Caya, program manager, NECE; Carol Dukart-Cartledge, human services lecturer; Teresa Felderman, associate professor of psychology; Darvin Fitzgerald, application development manager; Christopher Focke, chemistry lecturer; Angie Friez, human resources specialist; Marla Hagemeister, alternative learning coordinator; Wayne Heckaman, physical education lecturer; Scott Helphrey, instructional technology manager; Ethel Keeley, English lecturer; Michael Kubisiak, institutional research analyst; Jason Matthews, political science lecturer; Martin Nielsen, OSHA safety and health consultant; David Oakland, electric power/energy technology lecturer; David Peterson, assistant professor of mathematics; Nicholas Rahrich, English lecturer; Gregory Ross, interim associate vice president for Finance and Operations; Jessica Santini Levenhagen, English lecturer; Colin Schmidt, energy technology programs lecturer; Cathy Schweitzer, criminal justice lecturer; Ron Starck, digital media developer/lead application specialist, NECE; Tammy Staudinger, textbook associate; Jolene Thiel, business and office technology lecturer; Alicia Uhde, training and program manager, NECE.

5 YEARS - Stacey Ahmann, medical laboratory technician lecturer; Aimee Bachmeier, assistant professor of nursing; Tayo Basquiat, assistant professor of philosophy; Jayson Brunette, surgical technology clinical lecturer; Gregory Carlson, history lecturer; Terri Connell, speech communications lecturer; Brandt Dick, mathematics lecturer; Becky Fischer, catering coordinator/Food Service supervisor; Mike Gayette, technology support specialist; Robert Grawe, electric power technology lecturer; Gary Hager, process plant technology lecturer; Andrew Heinle, energy technology programs lecturer; Wayne Hoff, energy technology programs lecturer; Valerie Kling, philosophy lecturer; Jason Lueder, assistant professor of graphic design and communications; Kim Luptak, information technology data analyst; David Moum, assistant professor of instrumentation and control technology; Michael Noone, geographic information systems lecturer; John Olsrud, philosophy lecturer; Richard Opoien, electronics lecturer; Rob Peske, music lecturer; Duane Pool, geographic information systems lecturer; Tyler Schau, assistant professor of agriculture, technology and natural resources; Charles Schmidt, energy technology programs lecturer; Rachelle Smith, campus scheduling assistant; Vance Vesey, assistant professor of instrumentation and control technology; Nancy Weisbeck, operations manager, Continuing Education, Training and Innovation.

About Bismarck State College
Bismarck State College, an innovative community college in Bismarck, N.D., offers high quality education, workforce training, and enrichment programs reaching local and global communities.