Skip to main content

BSC faculty and staff receive promotions and excellence awards | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

BSC faculty and staff receive promotions and excellence awards

Published: May 16 2019
BSC faculty and staff receive promotions and excellence awards - Photo
Bismarck State College recently recognized professional achievements of faculty and staff at the 12th annual BSC Celebration.
Three BSC faculty members were granted tenure by the State Board of Higher Education in April. All earned the rank of associate professor. Tenure candidates with new titles include David Lewellyn, associate professor of visual arts; Gregory Lugar, associate professor, National Energy Center of Excellence; and Todd Seibel, associate professor, National Energy Center of Excellence.
The following employees were recognized for completing degrees in the last year: Dr. Katrina Eberhart, doctorate in teaching and learning; Retha Mattern, master’s degree in management; Kelli Sears, master’s degree in emergency medical services; and Reynold Miller, bachelor’s degree in career and technical education.
Five BSC employees were honored with the Award of Excellence, which recognizes significant or meritorious performance in professional roles.
Faculty recipients were Dr. Katrina Eberhart, associate professor of mathematics, and Heather Gysberg, assistant professor of mathematics.
Chosen for a Staff Award of Excellence were Darvis Helm, BSC Armory custodian, and Andrene Krein, academic advisor.
The Part-time/Adjunct Faculty Award of Excellence went to Scott Agnew, energy technology lecturer.
Recipients came from 44 nominations by students and BSC employees. Awardees were chosen by the BSC Foundation Programs Committee and representatives from faculty, staff and students. Full-time employees received a $1,000 cash gift from the Foundation and part-time employees received a $250 cash gift.
Matt Frohlich, associate professor of computers and office technology, was recognized as the Jack Fellowship award recipient. The late Tom and Peg Jack established the Jack Fellowship in 1999 with a contribution of $250,000 to endow this program. The fellowship provides an annual award of $25,000 to a BSC employee for further education, to conduct research or undertake other professional development opportunities.