Skip to main content

BSC faculty and staff receive promotions and excellence awards | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

BSC faculty and staff receive promotions and excellence awards

Published: Jul 10 2017
BSC faculty and staff receive promotions and excellence awards - Photo
Bismarck State College recently recognized professional achievements of faculty and staff at the 10th annual BSC Celebration.
BSC President Larry C. Skogen conferred the rank of full professor to two faculty members – Dr. Karen Arlien, professor of computer science; and Lynette Borjeson Painter, professor of computers and office technology.
To be considered for full professor, candidates must have taught at BSC for at least 12 years, presented an application portfolio to the Dean of Academic Affairs and his ranking committee, be recommended by the Faculty Senate and approved by the college president.
Three BSC faculty members were granted tenure by the State Board of Higher Education in early May. All earned the rank of associate professor.
Tenure candidates with new titles include Dr. Kim Crowley, associate professor of English; Kimberly Gutierrez, associate professor of English; and Vance Vesey, associate professor of instrumentation and control.
The following employees were recognized for completing degrees in the last year: Vickie Volk, doctorate in teaching and learning; Kelsey Dahl, master’s degree in management; Greg Lugar, master’s degree in advanced apostolic catechetical; and Aaron Furchner, bachelor’s degree in biology with a minor in chemistry and an emphasis in pre-med.
Five BSC employees were honored with the Award of Excellence which recognizes significant or meritorious performance in professional roles.
Faculty recipients were Jeff Skibicki, associate professor of mathematics, and Joe Vuolo, associate professor of accounting.
Chosen for a Staff Award of Excellence were Mary Sennert, academic/multicultural advisor in the Mystic Advising and Counseling Center, and Linda Greenstein, financial aid manager.
The Part-time/Adjunct Faculty Award of Excellence went to Lucas Pippenger, computer science lecturer.
Recipients came from 36 nominations by students and BSC employees. Awardees were chosen by the BSC Foundation Programs Committee and representatives from faculty, staff and students. Full-time employees received a $1,000 cash gift from the Foundation and part-time employees received a $250 cash gift.