Skip to main content

BSC students named to the 2021 All-North Dakota Academic Team | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

BSC students named to the 2021 All-North Dakota Academic Team

Published: Mar 19 2021
BSC students named to the 2021 All-North Dakota Academic Team - Photo

Four Bismarck State College students are among the 17 North Dakota community college students named to the 2021 All-North Dakota Academic Team, which recognizes the academic achievements of community college students.

Michael Schultz, Power Generation Technology major from Grand Marsh, Wis.

Ashlei Stanczyk, Liberal Arts major from Mandan, N.D.

Eden West, Business Administration major from Bismarck, N.D.

Danielle Thurston, Human Services major from Bismarck, N.D.

"Only the most highly driven and accomplished students are named to the All-North Dakota Academic Team," said North Dakota University System Chancellor Mark Hagerott. "The 17 students from throughout our system who were named to the team this year are tremendous examples of academic achievement and volunteer spirit."

The four BSC students were recognized at a small ceremony held at BSC in early March. Typically all All-North Dakota Academic Team members are honored together at a spring ceremony held on the campus of one of the NDUS community colleges, but this year each college held its own student ceremony following COVID safety protocols.

In North Dakota, the community college awards are co-sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society and the North Dakota University System College Technical Education Council. The academic team recognition program is active in 37 states. Students named to the state team also are nominated for the All-USA Academic Team.

Nominations are based on outstanding academic performance and service to the college and community. Each member of the team receives a certificate of congratulations from ND Gov. Doug Burgum, an award certificate, a medallion and a monetary award. Team members are also eligible for scholarships from Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University, Valley City State University, North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota. The University of Mary also offers awards to team members.