Skip to main content

BSC Milestones | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

BSC Milestones

1939     Bismarck Junior College opens with 107 students and 12 instructors

1949     BJC becomes part of Bismarck Public Schools

1955     BJC moves into building on the Capitol grounds

1959     Harold Schafer donates land overlooking the Missouri River to the college

1961   Classes begin in Schafer Hall

1965     Werner Hall completed

1968    Library completed

1972-1979    Swensen Hall, Technical Center, Student Union and Mystic Hall built

1984     BJC joins the North Dakota University System

1987     BJC becomes Bismarck State College

1998     Jack Science Center completed

2007     BSC Mandan Campus opens

NECE, Lidstrom Hall, BSC Aquatic & Wellness Center, BPS Career Academy, Robert A. Kunz Physical Plant, Gate City Bank Hall, Richie Hall, and LEA Hall built

2013     Enrollment exceeds 4,000 students

2018     BSC pursues new mission as a polytechnic