Skip to main content

BSC employees honored for years of service | Bismarck State College

to the top of the page
Home Page

BSC employees honored for years of service

Published: Jan 05 2016
BSC employees honored for years of service - Photo
The Bismarck State College Foundation honored 84 employees for their years of service during the college’s Employee Recognition Dinner at the Ramkota Hotel.
BSC Foundation Executive Director Gordon Binek spoke about the foundation’s year and introduced the award recipients. Other speakers were Paul Bakkum, BSC Foundation Board of Trustees president, and BSC President Larry Skogen, who presented the Foundation’s monetary gifts.
Yvonne Peters – Computer science lecturer. A full-time instructor for 40 years, Peters taught keyboarding, database, word processing and Intro to Computers in the Business and Computer Support Specialist programs. She now teaches Into to Computers online. Recipient of the 1996 Faculty Achievement Award, Peters was active in BSC governance and advised students in Phi Beta Lambda. 
Marv Mutzenberger – Associate Professor of Sociology. Mutzenberger teaches all Religion courses and has given more than 100 invocations and benedictions at BSC events. He was BSC baseball and cross country coach in the 1980s and announced basketball games for 20 years.
Ken Paulus – Professor of Welding and Industry Welding Trainer for CETI.  A department chair for 18 years, Paulus now manages two mobile welding labs and teaches for the Mechanical Maintenance program. He received the Faculty Excellence Award twice and the BSC President’s Special Achievement Award in 1988.
Carol Cashman – Associate Professor of Speech. Besides teaching, Cashman has been heavily involved in BSC governance, faculty development, and as a community volunteer. A member of the All-Campus Senate, she chaired the state Two-Year College Consortium, which developed the Great Teachers Seminar.
Angela Uhlich – Director of Medical Laboratory Technician and Phlebotomy Technician programs. Teaching since 1978, Uhlich was Medical Arts and Emergency Services Department chair for eight years (2006-14). She has chaired BSC’s Medical Laboratory and Phlebotomy Advisory Committee since 1985.   
25 YEARS – Dave Clark, executive vice president; Debbie Mantz, assistant professor of computer science and CETI trainer; Byron Paul, associate professor of electronics/ telecommunications technology; Joseph Vuolo, associate professor of accounting.
20 YEARS – Joe Ellefson, associate professor of criminal justice and Criminal Justice program coordinator; Donna Fishbeck, associate vice president for student affairs; Jamie Gable, custodian; Lori Heinsohn, CETI outreach manager; Earl Torgerson, associate professor of carpentry.
15 YEARS – Tamara Barber, associate vice president for finances and operations; Karen Bauer, assistant professor of journalism/Mystician advisor; Jean Berger, custodian supervisor; Dawn Hagerott, associate professor of music; JoDe Knutson-Person, associate professor of chemistry; Daniel Leingang, dean of academic affairs; Sue Lippert, admin/assist to provost and VP academic affairs; Carolyn Martinetti, CETI database technician; Laura Novak, English lecturer; Trudy Riehl, program director and associate professor of surgical technology; Michelle Schatz, client server specialist; Daniel Schmidt, NECE program manager; Jane Schreck, professor of English; Sean Thorenson, associate professor of graphic design and communications; Connie Wagner, computer information systems lecturer; Shirley Wilson, associate professor of accounting.
10 YEARS – Jim Alt, electric power technology lecturer; Brenda Austin, custodian; Kendal Busch, assistant professor electronics/ telecommunications technology; Jesse Carman, instructional technology coordinator; Walter Cintron, electrical transmission systems technology lecturer; John Custer, nuclear power technology lecturer; Joan Eckroth-Riley, music lecturer; Laura Emmil, electric power technology lecturer; Howell Flowers, assistant professor, NECE; Matt Frohlich, associate professor computer information systems; Nancy Gordon, counselor; Daniel Gunderson, electric power technology lecturer; Stephen Huebschwerlen, human services lecturer; Greg Hutzenbiler, associate professor of electrical lineworker; Clancy Keller, CETI customer relations assistant; Joshua Kern, associate professor of English; Craig Kleven, associate professor of agriculture, technology and natural resources; Melinda Landis, NECE advisor and electric power technology lecturer; Gregory Lauinger, energy technology programs lecturer; Suzie McShane, associate professor of nursing and BSC Dakota Nursing Program coordinator; Kyren Miller, NECE program manager and process plant technology lecturer; Mary Morrell, NECE grants coordinator; Brent Reems, associate professor of chemistry and Physical and Biological Sciences Department chair; Patrick Schnobrich, electrical transmission systems technology lecturer; Deb Shipman, associate professor of microbiology; Craig Wilhelm, energy technology programs lecturer; Becky Ziegler, physical education lecturer.
5 YEARS – Scott Agnew, energy technology lecturer; Heidi Ahl-Quanbeck, sociology lecturer; Dusty Anderson, production coordinator; Paul Brown, agriculture, technology and natural resources lecturer; Amy Brown, administrative assistant for College Advancement; Kevin Cavanagh, assistant professor of management; Katrina Eberhart, assistant professor of mathematics; Marie Eggert, admissions assistant; Lance Geving, NECE digital media developer and application specialist; Kelli Hoffman, day food service worker; Kelly Huwe, electronics lecturer; Randy Johnson, mathematics lecturer; Gordon Kelly, electric transmission systems technology lecturer; Michelle Kraft, instructional graphic designer and developer; Jerome Kramer, energy management lecturer; Dennis Kuntz, grounds maintenance worker; Michael Luger, faculty and campus information center assistant; Everaldo Martinez-Flores, music lecturer; Reynold Miller, assistant professor, NECE; Andrew Miller, assistant professor of music; Daymon Mills, laboratory coordinator, agriculture, technology and natural resources; Mike Myers, assistant professor, NECE; Ronald Peterson, mathematics lecturer; Mark Steele, assistant professor of engineering technology and graphic information systems; Vanessa Taylor, assistant professor of surgical technology; Dan Veverka, evening cook; Nita Wirtz, assistant professor of psychology.  

About Bismarck State College
Bismarck State College, an innovative community college in Bismarck, N.D., offers high quality education, workforce training, and enrichment programs reaching local and global communities.